Are walking sticks dangerous?

The two-striped walking stick insect, defends itself from predators, by squirting a strong smelling, milky-like fluid reported to be painful if contacting the eyes of humans and pets. Exposure should be treated as a medical incident and handled by a physician or veterinarian immediately.