When was black and white released?

1936. For 30 years of its existence (1936–67), television was entirely in black and white. And for a few thousand lookers-in who tuned in to mechanical television broadcasts (1929–35), images were black and orange due to the orange colour of the neon gas in the lamps used in the first TV sets.