What is a substitute for jalapeno?

Serrano pepper is the most suitable substitute for the jalapeño. Serranos have a similar taste as jalapeño peppers. The only difference between the two is the heat, and that the serrano pepper has a thinner exterior than the jalapeño which is thick-walled.