When is earth going to die?

Roughly 5 billion years from now, the Sun will exhaust the hydrogen fuel in its core and start burning helium, forcing its transition into a red giant star. During this shift, the Sun will expand out into the solar system, engulfing and eliminating the inner planets closest to it, including Earth.