What's the origin of the phrase cup of joe?

The origin of the phrase cup of joe goes back to the early 1900s and Admiral Josephus Daniels who was a secretary of the navy. The U.S. was involved with World War I at the time. He outlawed alcohol on ships which led to coffee becoming the favorite beverage of naval crews.