What does m. a. e. l. s. t. r. o. n. mean?

A Maelstrom is a very powerful whirlpool; a large, swirling body of water. A free vortex, it has considerable downdraft. The power of tidal whirlpools tends to be exaggerated by laymen; there are few stories of large ships ever being sucked into a maelstrom, although smaller craft are in danger.