Why do dogs shake their body?

A dog's skin twists as his body shakes, providing an effective method to rid himself of dirt, bugs and debris. Dogs frequently shake when they awake from sleeping. This behavior originated from canines in the wild, who lived and slept outdoors, as a way to keep their coats clean.

---

Depends on the purpose of the shake, it could be because the dog is cold or it could be to shake off water to dry itself more quickly