When is a cat overweight?

A cat is considered that a cat is overweight when it exceeds by 10% its ideal body weight, and it is considered obese when it exceeds by 20% its ideal weight. Most domestic cats should weigh about 10 pounds, though that can vary by breed and frame from 5 to 25 pounds.