What was the longest baseball game ever recorded?

April 18, 1981, the Pawtucket Red Sox began a game, which lasted 33 innings, against the Rochester Red Wings. It continued into April 19th for 32 innings when the game was paused. The final inning was played on June 23. Total actual playing time was 8 hours, 24 minutes. The Red Sox won, 3 to 2.