What is bicarbonate?

Bicarbonate is short for sodium bicarbonate, or baking soda. It is used in baking to help cookies rise. It can also be used to calm an upset stomach (1 teaspoon to 8 ounces water), in place of toothpaste, to absorb odors in your refrigerator and to extract insect stings.