How are tv shows rated?

A TV-Y rating means that programming is appropriate for children of all ages. Additional letters may be added: D – suggestive dialogue (usually means talks about sex) L – coarse or crude language S – sexual situations V – violence FV – fantasy violence (children’s programming only)