What country has the most smokers?

In the small South Pacific country of Kiribati, more than 50% of adults identify as smokers, the highest rate in the world

---

According to the World Health Organization, Kiribati has the highest per capita of adults who smoke at 52.2%, or 54,000 of the 103,000 population. China has the highest total population of smokers, where around 24% of adults smoke, roughly 343 million people.