Where does vanilla flavoring come from?

Vanilla, is a spice extracted from the seed pods of orchids, primarily of the genus Vanilla planifolia. The flavoring is a mixture of hundreds of compounds, including: vanillin, acetaldehyde, acetic acid, furfural, hexanoic acid, 4-hydroxybenzaldehyde, eugenol, methyl cinnamate, and isobutyric acid.