How long does it take to travel to space?

It takes the shuttle approximately 8 and half minutes to get to orbit. And if you think about it, we're accelerating a 4 and half million pound system from zero miles per hour to its orbital velocity of 17,500 miles per hour in those 8 and half minutes.