What's the difference between steelhead and salmon?

A steelhead is considered to be a trout. Scientific investigation reveals the steelhead is more closely related to the salmon than the trout. The freshwater steelhead is called a rainbow trout. Salmon only mate and spawn once in their lives. A steelhead may mate and spawn twice.