What's the conversion of dry ginger to fresh ginger?

While ⅛ to ½ a teaspoon of ground ginger can be substituted for 1 tablespoon of freshly grated ginger, ground ginger and fresh ginger do not taste exactly the same, so it may be better to follow the recipe exactly.