Did billie holiday get in trouble?

Jazz icon Billie Holiday, recorded an anti-lynching song called "Strange Fruit;" the song & her insistence on singing it drew the scrutiny of the f.b.n., she was arrested for heroin possession twice; did prison time for the 1st offense; the 2nd arrest put her in the hospital, where she died in cuffs