Why isn't fish considered a meat?

Objectively, fish is meat. Vegetarians abstain. Some religions define meat as land animals. Sometimes interpreted as warm-blooded animals. Sometimes understood to exclude birds. As Good Friday is a day of mourning, historically fish was appropriate, eating land animals was only for celebrations.