Do carpenter bees bite or sting?

Male carpenter bees do not have a stinger and will not sting or bite. Female carpenter bees do have stingers and are able to sting more than once.

---

Bees may bite intruders that are too small to sting. The female Carpenter bee will sting you, if you handle her, or adequately threaten her nest. Unlike honey bees though, carpenter bees don't lose their stinger when they sting. That means they are able to sting multiple times. Ouch.