What happened to levi in attack on titan?

In the final scenes of Attack on Titan, Levi is seen living in Marley. He's wheelchair-bound and escorted around a city by Falco and Gabi. Levi is implied to live out the rest of his life in a strange, foreign country, his friends either dead or an ocean away.