How big is the biggest star in the universe?

VY Canis Majoris is an extreme oxygen-rich red hypergiant or red supergiant and pulsating variable star located at 1.2 kiloparsecs away from Earth in the constellation of Canis Major. VY Canis Majoris is about 2,000 times wider than our sun. You can fit 9.3 billion of our suns into VY Canis Majoris.