Do you put peanut butter in the fridge?

Peanut butter's shelf life depends on how you store it. An open jar of peanut butter stays fresh up to 3 months in the pantry. After that, it's recommended to store the peanut butter in the fridge (where it can keep its quality for another 3-4 months). If you don't refrigerate, oil may separate.