What is the opera turandot about?

Turandot is a beautiful, brutal princess, who challenges her suitors to answer 3 riddles on pain of death. No one has ever succeeded. Calaf is a brave, selfish prince who falls instantly in love. Despite the wishes of his father and the pleas of a slave-girl who loves him, he pursues the princess.