How powerful is a fifty caliber bullet?

There are various types of 50 caliber bullets throughout history. When comparing power, the most common answer relates to the 50 BMG rifle round which carries between 14,000-20,000 Joules of energy depending on the exact bullet and powder load used to propel it.