What does s. mean in grades?

S, which is most predominately seen in video games, is usually the highest ranking you can possibly get. It is even higher than A and signals a perfect or almost perfect job. However there are rare occasions, such as in the VR game Beat Saber, where the highest ranking you can get is SS.