What is in a lusion?

An allusion is a reference to a work of literature, a piece of music or pop culture, in ANOTHER piece of work. For example, in the Pointer Sisters' song "Fire" they reference Samson and Delilah, Romeo and Juliet. The first couple is an allusion to the Bible. The second is an allusion to Shakespeare.