How many gold medals did michael phelps win in one year?

Michael Phelps' best single gold medal Olympics year was in 2008. The Beijing games saw Phelps win 8 gold medals that year. His eighth gold medal was the climax of his career, because he beat Mark Spitz's all time record of 7 gold medals in a single Olympics.