Why is the saxophone unique?

The saxophone is the only instrument in wide use today that was invented by a single individual - a musical instrument designer Adolphe Sax, hence the name saxophone. It is the only brass woodwind. It has a dynamic personality. The saxophone plays a major role in two different musical genres.