Why do dogs hump toys?

This often happens when a dog is insecure. It is a way to feel dominant over another animal--which is how they view their toys. It happens most with dogs that are timid, or that were gotten very young. It is a behavior issue, and can be discussed with a veterinarian to help the dog feel more secure.