Where did the phrase bee's knees come from?

The phrase the bee's knees was first recorded in the late 18th century, when it was used to mean 'something very small and insignificant'. Its current meaning dates from the 1920s, at which time a whole collection of American slang expressions were coined to mean 'an outstanding person or thing'.