What is alcohol mean?

Alcohol as consumed in beverage form is produced through the fermentation of various sugars by yeast, producing carbon dioxide and ethanol, or ethyl alcohol. Chemically, an alcohol is any organic compound having at least one oxygen-hydrogen hydroxyl functional group bound to a saturated carbon atom.