Where did shiver me timbers come from?

It expresses shock or surprise. The phrase is based on nautical slang and is a reference to the timbers, or the wooden support frames of a sailing ship. In heavy seas, ships would be lifted up and pounded down so hard as to "shiver" the timbers, startling the sailors.