What's an ash winder?

It is a serpentine creature from Harry Potter. The Ashwinder was a magical serpent that was created from the remains of any magical fire that was allowed to burn unchecked. As it was a serpentine creature, the Ashwinder may very well be susceptible to Parseltongue magic.