What is a scruffy looking nerf herder?

The "scruffy looking" means an untamed or unkempt appearance. Nerfs are some sort of cattle like species raised on many planets throughout the Galaxy. Herding them was considered as a low class profession. It was a common put down to call someone a nerf herder. This was from The empire strikes back.