Who was the president during the mario boatlift?

The President During the Mariel Boat Lift was President Jimmy Carter was in office from April to September of 1980, when 125,000 Cubans arrived on American shores in Florida. These Cubans left their homeland at the behest of their leader, Fidel Castro.