What time first the chicken or the egg?

The egg. It's believed the first chicken was hatched as a mutation from an ancient bird they call a proto chicken. When the proto chickens mated, the genes from the hen and rooster joined to create another proto chicken but the joining mutated, and what hatched is a chicken.