Who played in the old version of boys town?

Paul Megee. Director Norman Taurog's Boys Town claims to be based on the true story of Father Flanagan (played by Spencer Tracy, who earned a Best Actor Oscar for his performance) and his vision of running an almost self-governed orphanage for boys.