How did kevin o'leary make his money?

In 1999 Kevin sold his company to the Mattel Toy Company for a staggering 3.7 billion dollars. To keep his money working hard, he took control of his wealth from his lackluster money managers and founded his own mutual fund company, O'Leary Funds.