Who is the author of henry?

William Sydney Porter, born September 11 1862, better known by his pen name O. Henry, was an American short story writer. Porter's works include "The Gift of the Magi", "The Duplicity of Hargraves", and "The Ransom of Red Chief". His stories are known for their surprise endings and witty narration.