How do you fix a hot toddy?

Bring a little less than a cup of water to a boil. Pour it into a mug. Add one and a half ounces whiskey and two or three teaspoons each of honey and lemon Juice. Float a lemon slice on top and garnish with a cinnamon stick. One can use bourbon, rum, or brandy.