What year was the draft abolished?

The last draft call was on December 7, 1972, and the authority to induct expired on June 30, 1973. The last drawing for the lottery was on March 12, 1975. Registration with the Selective Service System was suspended on April 1, 1975, and registrant processing was suspended on January 27, 1976.