How hot does the inside of a microwave get?

Unlike with most conventional oven types, only the food or liquid (and the container it's in) gets heated in a microwave oven, not the oven itself. The maximum effective temperature that food or liquids can reach in a microwave is 212 degrees Fahrenheit, or the boiling point of water.