What does it mean when a cat has nine lives?

There is an ancient proverb that claims, “A cat has nine lives. For three he plays, for three he strays and for the last three he stays." Some people believe the nine liives myth is related to a cats' ability to always land on their feet. Cats are also known for their dexterity and agility.