What is vanilla extract come from?

Pure vanilla extract is the product of orchids that grow only in tropical climates. The extract must be 35 percent alcohol. But, more alcohol results in a deeper, richer flavor. Imitation vanilla is made from artificial flavorings and wood byproducts.