Are light sabers real?

A lightsaber is a fictional energy sword featured in the Star Wars franchise. A typical lightsaber is depicted as a luminescent blade of magnetically contained plasma about 3 feet (0.91 m) in length emitted from a metal hilt around 10.5 inches (27 cm) in length.