Why do cats lick their owners?

Your cat may give you an occasional lick just to show affection. Just as mother cats lick their young, grooming communicates a cat's fondness for a person, as well as a sense of belonging and a social bond. The licking marks you as a member of the animal's family and spreads the cat's scent.