Do cows regurgitate their food?

Regurgitation of cud is a normal part of the digestive process in a cow. Cows belong to a group of animals known as ruminants, and have four distinct stomachs, including the rumen. When a cow is ruminating properly, she should chew her cud on a frequent basis.