How do hermit crabs get rid of bodily waste?

Hermit crabs produce solid waste. They defecate into their shells. At intervals, they clean the waste out of their shells, depositing it on the ground. Individuals who keep hermit crabs as pets have to routinely remove the waste from the crab's enclosure.