How do you become a speedster?

The Flash is a comic character created for DC Comics in 1940 by writer Gardner Fox and artist Harry Lampert. In the 2014 television series by Greg Berlanti, a speedster is anyone with the Flashes abilities. These abilities were given and taken away by aliens from an alternate universe.