Where does the name friday come from?

Venus is the goddess of love, and so is Frigg (and maybe also Freya, as they may have originally been the same goddess). Frígg gave the name to Friday. Frigg is Odin's wife in Norse mythology. She was perceived as the goddess of marriage.